LibGuides: BHS Library: Using Databases

NOVELny Databases

Power Search This link opens in a new window A federated search of all our Gale databases.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Research in Context This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
Britannica School This link opens in a new window
Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window Escolar is the Spanish language version of Britannica

Open-Access Databases

Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new window
All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
Internet Archive This link opens in a new window
The Internet Archive, is a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Their mission is to provide Universal Access to All Knowledge.
World Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.

What are Databases?

What is a Database?

A database is any organized collection of information. They are usually electronic and can be searched by users to find something specific. Usually when we talk about databases in the library, we are talking about collections of scholarly and professional articles, periodicals, primary source documents, etc... But really, a database can contain any kind of data, such as text, video, images, or sound files.

Why Would I Use a Database Instead of Google?

While Google is an amazing tool that is very easy to use, using scholarly databases to do research for schoolwork or other important projects will ensure that your sources of information come from reputable and objective sources. Additionally, because these databases are made specifically for doing research, there are tools such as topic finder, subject search, and a variety of filters that will help lead you to the information you need

How to use a database

The Deep Web and Why Libraries?

What's The Deep Web? Why the Library?

Why do I need to know all this stuff about databases when I can just find stuff online? This video will explain some of the reasons why using the library's resources, including databases, will usually provide higher quality information than searching the wild internet.