Welcome! There is a wide variety of resources here to help you find information and great books to read, for school or for fun!
|
|
|
Awkward by 
Gay Lives by  |
Print books, ebooks and audiobooks |
|
Sora |
Destiny |
|
eBooks and audiobooks from the Citywide Digital Library |
BHS Print Book catalog |
Print & Digital Books
Paper books, eBooks and audiobooks are available in three different places through the BHS library. Check out Sora, Comics Plus - Library Pass, and Destiny. And don't forget Brooklyn Public Library as well!
|
|
DestinyDestiny is where you can find all of our print books, and it is also has an older collection of digital content from before 2021. You can still access a wide variety of eBooks and audiobooks on this platform, even though we now use Sora to curate our newest digital content. Here are instructions for: 1. Go to the catalog (search.follettsoftware.com/metasearch/ui/113683) 2. Log in using your DOE username and password 3. Browse or search for books 4. Check out digital materials, or place a hold on print materials. Here are some detailed instructions for logging into Destiny on a mobile device or web browser Log in using your DOE username and password on the website or in the app. **Find your DOE username and password here.** |
 |
All of our newest eBooks and audiobooks are available on the platform, Sora. Here we have access to collections that are available to all students across the city, as well as titles selected by Ms. Rathgeb just for BHS. Log in using your nycstudents.net account on the website or in the app. To access the Sora collection:
Here are some detailed instructions for logging into Sora on a mobile device or web browser. |
 |
BPL continues to have the greatest variety of books and other digital content available for free at this time. Although you may experience some higher-than-usual wait time, there is a lot that is available. No library card? No problem! Fill out this application for a digital library card to access all their great content. |
 |
Once you have your Brooklyn Public Library Card, download the Libby eReader app to access eBooks and audiobooks from BPL. |
|
|
A note on fair use and copyright: There are many things available on the internet. But unless a book is in "the public domain" or special permission has been granted by a publisher, books are not generally available for free. While they may be tempting to use right now, when accessing books has become so difficult, it is unethical to use or share these "bootleg" copies and files. Please exercise discretion when looking for digital content.
How do I research?
Follow these simple steps for conducting a research project.
The resources below will help you understand these steps, and provide guidance on how to accomplish each one.
These two videos break down the process of finding a research topic. There is more to it than just thinking of something you think is cool -- although that is usually a great place to start!
**ProTip: Click fullscreen to see the videos better.
Inside most of our school's databases, you can use a thing called "Subject headings" that can help you narrow your topic down from a big idea that you're interested in, to something more manageable or a specific question. This video will show you how to access it, and how to use it.
**PROTIP: Use fullscreen to see the presentation better.
In this video you can learn about what subject headings are, and how databases work differently from a Google search. Undersanding the differences can help improve your search strategies when using a database.
**PRO TIP: Use fullscreen to see the video better.
Inside most of our school's databases, there is a feature called "topic finder" that can help you narrow your topic down from a big idea that you're interested in, to something more manageable or specific question. This video will show you how to access it, and how to use it.
**PROTIP: Use fullscreen to see the video better.
A research question is the question is the center your research. It should be:
Text adapted from: George Mason University Writing Center
Image from: Lewis A. Jackson Library at Indiana Wesleyan University
Inquiry is a cycle! This means that when you are investigating or researching a topic, you will often work backwards and forwards as you locate, evaluate and analyze information. Inquiry and research do not happen in a linear fashion. Instead, you will often loop back and revisit steps in the research project. In general, here are 6 phases of inquiry that you will visit and revisit: Connect, Wonder, Investigate, Construct, Express, and Reflect.
Using Internet Sources
Of course people want you to use books for research, but the internet is great too! As long as you use it (and cite it!) correctly. There are bazillions of websites you can find using Google. Learn how to find what your looking for fast, and how to spot inaccuracies.
Vertical and Lateral Reading
Vertical and lateral reading are strategies for checking the validity of the information you find on the internet. Vertical reading is when you look at the source itself, and decide whether a website looks trustworthy. Lateral reading is when you look outside the source to see if the person or organization who published the website is a reliable authority.
Keywords, Synonyms, and Phrase Searching
Searching for synonyms is a great way to find additional information about your topic. For example If you're doing research on cats, but you only ever search the word "cat" you may miss articles that only use the word "feline" or specific kinds of cats like "leopard" or "panther." Watch this video to see how it works!
At some point, even in formal academic research, you're going to have to use Google. Use these tips from Time magazine to help you maximize your Google searches.
11 Google Tricks That Will Change the Way You Search, from Time magazine, February 3rd, 2016.
What's the problem with websites?
In order to believe anything you read online, it is essential to know who put the information online, and why they are publishing it.
Anyone can access the internet, and anyone can publish on the internet. Some individuals and private corporations may put information online for reasons such as financial gain, or to forward a particular political or social agenda. For this reason, we cannot always trust that the information we find online is accurate or unbiased.
How do I find good information on the internet?
Adapted from: Rogers, Tony. "8 Ways to Determine Website Reliability." ThoughtCo, Nov. 27, 2019, thoughtco.com/gauging-website-reliability-2073838.
These special forms of Google search will only search for certain types of website. That way you can ensure that you are getting more reliable information.
Google Books - results from books that have been completely or partially digitized
Using Databases
Databases are great! They have so much information and the kinds of things you can't always find with Google. They also almost guarantee valid information!
They work a little differently though. You search a database using only key words -- like searching #hashtags on Instagram.
Find out just what the key differences are between databases and search engines, like Google, and see how you can get the most out of them!
What is a Database?
A database is any organized collection of information. They are usually electronic and can be searched by users to find something specific. Usually when we talk about databases in the library, we are talking about collections of scholarly and professional articles, periodicals, primary source documents, etc... But really, a database can contain any kind of data, such as text, video, images, or sound files.
What's The Deep Web? Why the Library?
Why do I need to know all this stuff about databases when I can just find stuff online? This video will explain some of the reasons why using the library's resources, including databases, will usually provide higher quality information than searching the wild internet.
Database Index
This is an index of all the databases our school has access to, organized by subject area. You can also search for a database using this alphabetical listing.
Use this federated search to search ALL of the NOVELny databases at once.
How Do I Cite Sources?
When doing ANYTHING with information you didn't make yourself, you have to say where it came form. Learn how to do it correctly.
Anatomy of the MLA Format
EasyBib.com is a website that will help guide you through the process of making an MLA citation for your sources. It can be a little tricky to use, and there may be a lot of ads, but is definitely helpful because you won't have to remember all of the different rules on your own.
Full Citations
These contain all of the necessary information about a source that you used and are included in a bibliography or works-cited page at the end of a larger work (like an essay or presentation). They let your readers know exactly where you found all of the information you found in your research
Book
Website
www.cla.purdue.edu/english/theory/. Accessed 10 May 2006.
Article in an online database
These are a shorthand for full citations. They are used within the text of a paper or a presentation so that your reader knows that you are quoting or paraphrasing the work of someone else. In-text citations should contain just enough information so that your reader can find the source if they look in your bibliography, but not so much that it makes your work difficult to read.
--
You can reference a source in the text of your essay, and include the page number where necessary in parentheses. For example:
As Howard Zinn points out in his book, A People's History of the United States, "when the war in Mexico began, New York workingmen called a meeting to oppose the war." (159)
--
Alternatively, you can provide a parenthetical citation with the author's last name and the page number the quotation comes from:
"When the war in Mexico began, New York workingmen called a meeting to oppose the war." (Zinn, 159)
***
You must use either method of in-text citation even if you are paraphrasing the source and not directly quoting it!
The Purdue OWL is a resource from Purdue University that provides free, easily understood information about how and when to cite virtually any kind of source. Use the headings on the left side of the page to help you find the types of citation (and examples!) that you need.
What is the Extended Essay?
It is an independent, self-directed piece of research, finishing with a 4,000-word paper.
Through the research process for the extended essay, students develop skills in:
 |
Criterion A: Focus and Method |
|
1. How well does the research paper identify and communicate the chosen topic? 2. Does the title address the focus of the essay? 3. Is the research question appropriate given the scope of the task? Is it clearly stated, focused and based on background knowledge and understanding of the chosen subject area? Is the focus of the research question maintained throughout the essay? 4. Is there evidence of effective and informed source selection in order to address the research question? |
 |
Criterion C: Critical Thinking |
|
1. Does the essay describe the use of sources in the development of the argument? 2. Is the analysis effective and focused on the research question? 3. Does the essay develop a clear and coherent, reasoned argument in relation to the research question? 4. Is there is a critical evaluation of the arguments presented in the essay? 5. Are there any unlikely or unexpected outcomes? |
 |
Criterion E: Engagement |
|
1. Did you engage in discussions with your supervisor in the planning and progress of your research? 2. Did you refine your research process, and react to insights gained through the exploration of your research question? 3. How present is your voice, rather than that of your supervisor? |
 |
Criterion B: Knowledge and Understanding |
|
1. Does the essay demonstrate the selection and application of appropriate sources? 2. Does the essay use subject-specific terminology and concepts? |
 |
Criterion D: Presentation |
|
1. Is the structure of the essay compatible with the conventions of a research paper in the subject? 2. Does the essay include: title page, table of contents, page numbers, section headings, illustrative materials (tables, graphs, illustrations, appropriately labelled), quotations, bibliography and referencing? 3. Is it between 3,800 and 4,000 words? |
LGBTQIA+ Resources
Here you will find lots of information about Coming Out, staying connected, and being an ally! There are links to outside organizations and publications that can help you stay informed, stay safe, and stay you!
In order to access the books you will need your DOE username. You can set it up here. E-mail Mr. Hyland for the password you need to access the catalog.
Once you have access to the catalog you can download the MackinVIA app to listed to the collection on your mobile device. Follow these instructions for downloading the MackinVIA app and accessing the audiobooks.
If audiobooks aren't your thing check out additional Queer Lit ebooks that you can read on your computer or mobile device using the Destiny Read app.
Vocabulary is very important. We want to make sure that we use the correct terms to describe people, and we want to be sure that we are using language that is not offensive or defamatory. Here are some common terms used to describe people in the LGBTQIA+ community. You can find additional terms in these places:
Asexual | The lack of a sexual attraction or desire for other people.
Bisexual | A person emotionally, romantically or sexually attracted to more than one sex, gender or gender identity though not necessarily simultaneously, in the same way or to the same degree.
Gay | A person who is emotionally, romantically or sexually attracted to members of the same gender.
Intersex | An umbrella term used to describe a wide range of natural bodily variations. In some cases, these traits are visible at birth, and in others, they are not apparent until puberty. Some chromosomal variations of this type may not be physically apparent at all.
Lesbian | A woman who is emotionally, romantically or sexually attracted to other women.
Queer | A term people often use to express fluid identities and orientations. Often used interchangeably with "LGBTQ."
Questioning | A term used to describe people who are in the process of exploring their sexual orientation or gender identity.
Transgender | An umbrella term for people whose gender identity and/or expression is different from cultural expectations based on the sex they were assigned at birth. Being transgender does not imply any specific sexual orientation. Therefore, transgender people may identify as straight, gay, lesbian, bisexual, etc.
 |
There's no right or wrong way to come out. You should just make sure that you are safe and comfortable when you do it. And just because you identify in one way, doesn't mean you won't identify differently later! You don't have to be certain in order to come out.
If you're not sure whether it's a good time for you to come out, or if you just want to talk about possibilities, you can always reach out to a friend, a family member, a teacher or other trusted adult who can help you figure it out. |
 |
The Gender Unicorn helps you visualize your own gender and sexual identities, and to see that they can be fluid! Follow the link to fill one out for yourself! You can then print or e-mail your unicorn as a way of sharing your identities, or even coming out! |
LGBTQIA+ Resources
Here you will find lots of information about Coming Out, staying connected, and being an ally! There are links to outside organizations and publications that can help you stay informed, stay safe, and stay you!
In order to access the books you will need your DOE username. You can set it up here. E-mail Mr. Hyland for the password you need to access the catalog.
Once you have access to the catalog you can download the MackinVIA app to listed to the collection on your mobile device. Follow these instructions for downloading the MackinVIA app and accessing the audiobooks.
If audiobooks aren't your thing check out additional Queer Lit ebooks that you can read on your computer or mobile device using the Destiny Read app.
Vocabulary is very important. We want to make sure that we use the correct terms to describe people, and we want to be sure that we are using language that is not offensive or defamatory. Here are some common terms used to describe people in the LGBTQIA+ community. You can find additional terms in these places:
Asexual | The lack of a sexual attraction or desire for other people.
Bisexual | A person emotionally, romantically or sexually attracted to more than one sex, gender or gender identity though not necessarily simultaneously, in the same way or to the same degree.
Gay | A person who is emotionally, romantically or sexually attracted to members of the same gender.
Intersex | An umbrella term used to describe a wide range of natural bodily variations. In some cases, these traits are visible at birth, and in others, they are not apparent until puberty. Some chromosomal variations of this type may not be physically apparent at all.
Lesbian | A woman who is emotionally, romantically or sexually attracted to other women.
Queer | A term people often use to express fluid identities and orientations. Often used interchangeably with "LGBTQ."
Questioning | A term used to describe people who are in the process of exploring their sexual orientation or gender identity.
Transgender | An umbrella term for people whose gender identity and/or expression is different from cultural expectations based on the sex they were assigned at birth. Being transgender does not imply any specific sexual orientation. Therefore, transgender people may identify as straight, gay, lesbian, bisexual, etc.
|
There's no right or wrong way to come out. You should just make sure that you are safe and comfortable when you do it. And just because you identify in one way, doesn't mean you won't identify differently later! You don't have to be certain in order to come out.
If you're not sure whether it's a good time for you to come out, or if you just want to talk about possibilities, you can always reach out to a friend, a family member, a teacher or other trusted adult who can help you figure it out. |
|
The Gender Unicorn helps you visualize your own gender and sexual identities, and to see that they can be fluid! Follow the link to fill one out for yourself! You can then print or e-mail your unicorn as a way of sharing your identities, or even coming out! |
In the 2019-2020 school year the New York City Junior Ambassadors club worked with the United Nations to learn about the UN sustainability goals for 2030. We focused on Gender Identity. Here are the products that they made to help people understand the many different facets of gender identity and how it is represented in the society.
 |
The Gender Equality SDG aims to: End all forms of discrimination against all women and girls everywhere Eliminate all forms of violence against all women and girls in the public and private spheres, including trafficking and sexual and other types of exploitation Eliminate all harmful practices, such as child, early and forced marriage and female genital mutilation Recognize and value unpaid care and domestic work and promote shared responsibility within the household and the family as nationally appropriate Ensure women’s full and effective participation and equal opportunities for leadership in political, economic and public life
And more! |
Find out more about the other UN Sustainability Development Goals here
These students did independent research into different countries to find out how LGBTQ people are treated there, and protected under the law. They compiled their findings in an easy-to-read infographic.
While researching this issue we learned that gender equality is different all around the world. And even things like climate change can affect how people see gender equality. Different cultures and religions see gender equality in different ways. Our slideshow demonstrates how people see gender equality all around the world.
These students looked at gender stereotypes and tried to uncover the different places where they exist in our everyday lives. They offer some strategies for how we can combat them, and explain why it is important to do so.
Subject Area Guides
Below are specific guides for each of the subject areas offered at BHS. They are primarily geared toward teachers looking for resources but can also be used by students working on independent projects. In the left-hand column are some general resources that are not department-specific.
| Topics in Cultures | Topics in Government |
| Ancient Egypt | American Government |
| Ancient Greece | Democracy |
| Islamic Civilization | Political Systems and Parties |
| Native Americans | Voting and the Electoral College |
|
|
All topics in Government >> |
| Topics in U. S. History | Topics in World History |
| American Colonies | Age of Exploration |
| Civil Rights Movement | Cold War |
| Immigration | World War I |
| Slavery | World War II |
| All Topics in U. S. History >> | All Topics in World History >> |
| Browse Additional Topics in | |
| Geography | Literature |
| People | Science |
| Social Issues | Browse All Topics >> |
| Browse articles on History | Browse articles on Society |
| Ancient World | Cultural Aspects |
| Middle Ages | Economy |
| Global Exploration | Government |
| Age of Revolutions | Social Structure and Change |
| The Modern World |
|
| Browse articles on Philosophy | Browse articles on Religion |
| Empiricism | Ancient European Religion |
| Ethics | Indigenous Religion |
| Marxism | Islam |
| Rationalism | Pre-Colombian Religion |
| See more... | See more... |
| Issues in Business and Economics | Issues in Law and Politics |
| Capitalism | Black Lives Matter |
| Free Trade | Human Rights |
| Globalization | LGBTQ Rights and State Laws |
| Socialism | Patriotism |
|
All Issues in Business and Economics >>
|
All Issues in Law and Politics >> |
| Issues in Society and Culture | Issues in War and Diplomacy |
| Antisemitism | Islamic State in Iraq and Syria |
| Gentrification | Israel-Palestinian Conflict |
| Human Trafficking | National Security |
| Women's Rights | Nuclear Weapons |
| All Issues in Society and Culture >> | All Issues in War and Diplomacy >> |
| Browse Additional Issues in | |
| Energy and Environmentalism | Health and Medicine |
| National Debate Topics | Science Technology and Ethics |
| Browse All Issues >> |
Audible by Amazon has made a wide variety of audiobooks available to the public for FREE!
Linguee Bilingual Dictionaries
Linguee offers one-to-one translateion as well as bilingual dictionaries in French an other languages. You can use the website or download the app.
Spanish-Language Content
These databases offer reference, biographical, and geographical material, as well as articles and other kinds of information to supplement coursework.
**LOGIN INFORMATION REQUIRED.**
Contact vincent.hyland@k497.org for username and password
Teachers can also e-mail vincent.hyland@k497.org for support setting up a class.
TV 5 Monde
This French-language news source also offers a language-learning activities using authentic news sources. They have content aligned to the European Framework and even offer a diagnostic test!
New York Times E.L.L. & Art
Resources for teaching English language learners and the arts using New York Times content. Resources include lots of images and writing prompts as well as readings on current events.
Language & Literature
Independent Reading
Resources for accessing eBooks, audiobooks, online comics and more is available on the "eBooks and Audiobooks" tab of this website. There you will find information on finding and accessing a wide variety of materials remotely. There is login information required for some. If you email me directly, at vincent.hyland@k497.org I can help you get yourself and/or your students set up.
LOGIN INFORMATION REQUIRED.
Contact vincent.hyland@k497.org for username and password.
| Browse Articles on Literature | Browse Articles on Society |
| Genre | Cultural Aspects |
| Literary Criticism | People's of the World |
| Poetry | Social Structure and Change |
| See more... | See more... |
Browse all Articles >> |
| Issues in Society and Culture | Issues in National Debate |
| Activism | Afghan War |
| Cultural Appropriation | Human Rights |
| Gentrification | Immigration |
| Social Justice | Technology and Society |
| All Issues in Society & Culture >> | All Issues in National Debate >> |
| Browse Additional Issues in | |
| Business and Economics | Energy and Environmentalism |
| Health and Medicine | Law and Politics |
| Science, Technology and Ethics | War and Diplomacy |
| Browse All Issues >> |
| Topics in Culture | Topics in Literature |
| African Americans | Characterization |
| Asian Americans | Figurative Language |
| Hispanic Americans | Harry Potter |
| Native Americans | Plot Structure |
| All Topics in Culture >> |
|
| Topics in People | Topics in Social Issues |
| Angelou, Maya | American Dream |
| Fitzgerald, F. Scott | Bullying |
| Malcolm X | Civil Rights |
| Yousafzai, Malala | Native American Struggles |
|
|
All Topics in Social Issues >> |
| Browse Additional Topics in | |
| Geography | U. S. History |
| Government | World History |
| Science | Browse All Topics >> |
| Browse Additional Topics in | |
| Cultures | People |
| Geography | U. S. History |
| Government | World History |
| Literature | Browse all topics >> |
| Issues in Business and Economics | Issues in Society and Culture |
| Capitalism | Gentrification |
| College Tuition and Student Loans | Poverty |
| Unemployment and Job Creation | US Census |
| US Economy | US Budget Deficit |
|
All Issues in Society & Culture >>
|
| Issues in Science, Technology and Ethics | Issues in Law and Politics |
| Big Data | Government Spending |
| Infectious Diseases | Minimum Wage |
| Mass Extinctions | Predatory Lending |
| All Issues in Science, Technology & Ethics >> |
All Issues in Law & Politics >>
|
| Browse Additional Issues in | |
| Energy and Environmentalism | Health and Medicine |
| National Debate Topics | War and Diplimacy |
| Articles on Mathematics | |||
| Algebra | Calculus | Geometry | Probability Theory |
| Analysis | Combinatorics | Number Theory | Set Theory |
| Arithmetic | Computer Science | Numerical Analysis | Trigonometry |
| Browse Additional Articles in | |
| Science | Technology |
| Philosophy | Society |
| Browse All Articles >> |
| Topics in Science | Topics in Social Issues |
| Abortion | Autism / Autism Spectrum Disorder |
| Alcoholism | Baseball |
| Anorexia Nervosa | Basketball |
| Drug Abuse | Cyberbullying |
| Obesity | Depression |
| Smoking | Soccer |
| Viruses and Viral Diseases | Sports |
| All Topics in Science >> |
All Topics in Social Issues >>
|
| Browse Additional Topics in | |
| Cultures | People |
| Geography | U. S. History |
| Government | World History |
| Literature | Browse All Topics >> |
|
Browse Articles on Life Processes |
Browse Articles on Science |
| Life Cycle | Biological Sciences |
| Organs and Organ Systems | Medicine |
| Vital Processes | Social Sciences |
| See more... |
|
|
Browse Articles on Sports |
|
| Animal Sports | Boxing |
| Athletics | Cricket |
| Baseball | Cycling |
| Basketball | Extreme Sports |
| Bowling | Figure Skating |
| See more... | |
| Browse Additional Articles on | |
| Animals | Philosophy and Religion |
| Arts and Literature | Plants |
| Earth and Geography | Society |
| History | Technology |
| Living Things (other) | Browse All Articles >> |
| Issues in Health and Medicine | Issues in Family |
| Age of Consent | Athletes and Sports |
| Birth Control | HIV / AIDS |
| Body Image | Peer Pressure |
| Club Drugs | Pornography |
| Nutrition | Sex Education |
| Sexually Transmitted Diseases and Infections | Sexual Orientation |
| All Issues in Health and Medicine >> |
|
| Browse Additional Issues in | |
| Business and Economics | Health and Medicine |
| Law and Politics | National Debate Topics |
| Science Technology and Ethics | War and Diplomacy |
| Society and Culture | Browse All Issues >> |
| Topics in Science | Topics in Social Issues |
| Atoms | Alternative Energy |
| Big Bang Theory | Cloning |
| Biodiversity | Drones |
| Climate | Euthanasia |
| Ecosystems | Global Warming and Climate Change |
| Evolution | Pollution |
| Plate Tectonics | World Population |
| All Topics in Science >> |
All Topics in Social Issues >>
|
| Browse Additional Topics in | |
| Cultures | People |
| Geography | U. S. History |
| Government | World History |
| Literature | Browse All Topics >> |
| Browse Articles on Science and Mathematics | |||
| Astronomy | Chemistry | Mathematics | Physical Science |
| Biological Sciences | Earth Sciences | Medicine | Social Sciences |
|
Browse Articles on Earth and Geography |
Browse Articles on Life Processes |
| Continents | Biosphere |
| Oceans | Life Cycle |
| Physical Features | Organs and Organ Systems |
| The Earth | Vital Processes |
| Browse Additional Articles on | |
| Animals | Plants |
| Living Things (other) | Technology |
| Browse All Articles >> |
| Issues in Energy and Environmentalism | Issues in Science, Technology and Ethics |
| Biofuels | Bioethics |
| Food Waste | DNA Technology and Crime |
| Fossil Fuels | Genetically Modified Food |
| Nuclear Energy | Infectious Diseases |
| Pollution | Space Exploration |
| Zoos and Aquariums | Vaccines |
| All Issues in Energy and Environmentalism >> |
All Issues in Science, Technology and Ethics >>
|
| Browse Additional Issues in | |
| Business and Economics | Health and Medicine |
| Law and Politics | National Debate Topics |
| Society and Culture | War and Diplomacy |
| Browse All Issues >> |
