BHS Library: Individuals & Societies

The Research in Context database provides curated sets of academic, periodical and popular articles, reference information, as well as images and videos for different topics in Science. Here are just some of the many topic sets you can use. Resources are easily synced with GoogleClassroom

Encyclopedia Britannica contains factual, biographical, and geographical information from all disciplines in text, audio and video. It is great for giving overviews in as much or as little detail as you would like. Reading levels can be differentiated, text can be translated and read aloud. Content can be curated by the teacher into folders with sharable links, and content is searchable by IB criteria alignment. All content can be synced with GoogleClassroom.

Much of the same content available on Britannica School is also available here in Spanish!

The Opposing Viewpoints in Context database provides a wide variety of perspectives on provocative, interdisciplinary topics in the form of articles, audio and video recordings, infographics, etc. This is a great resource for starting conversations or debates. Here are just some of the many issues you can choose from. Resources are easily synced to GoogleClassroom.

U.S. History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Search the full text of The New York Times from 1985 to the present.