LibGuides: BHS Library: All Databases

Power Search

Use this federated search to search ALL of the NOVELny databases at once.

Power Search This link opens in a new window A federated search of all our Gale databases.

Reference Databases

AcademicOne File This link opens in a new window Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
General OneFile This link opens in a new window General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text, General OneFile serves a wide audience of readers.

Career & Business Databases

Culinary Arts Collection This link opens in a new window Culinary Arts Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection This link opens in a new window Hospitality, Tourism, and Leisure Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.
Health Reference Center Academic This link opens in a new window Health Reference Center Academic provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
Vocations and Careers Collection This link opens in a new window Vocations and Careers Collection provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window Today's business researchers demand instant access to reliable, comprehensive data and the tools to analyze and interpret the information. Gale Business Insights: Essentials delivers authoritative company and industry information, articles, and statistical data. Students, business owners, entrepreneurs, marketing professionals, investors, financial planners, and general researchers can explore real-world applications and develop analytical skills. Gale Business Insights: Essentials features easy-to-search rich content, a user-friendly interface, and robust analytical tools.
Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window Criminal Justice informs the research process for researchers who are studying law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports, and much more. The Criminal Justice makes research easy by bringing together information from more than 250 journals. Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.
Home Improvement This link opens in a new window Home Improvement puts the research of hobbyists and professionals alike on a solid foundation with more than 4.5 million articles from more than 200 home improvement-focused titles, covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others.
Insurance and Liability This link opens in a new window Insurance and Liability addresses concerns over the protection of assets, physical or intellectual, ranging from the individual property owner to multinational corporations. Insurance and Liability connects researchers to hundreds of thousands of updated articles from leading journals.
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window Provide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window hysical Therapy and Sports Medicine covers the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Science

Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection This link opens in a new window Gardening, Landscape, and Horticulture Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focused on both the practical aspects as well as the scientific theory of horticulture studies. The database offers biotechnologists, farmers, hobbyists, and landscape architects alike access to important content relevant to their pursuits.
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window General Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.
Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.
Agriculture Collection This link opens in a new window With broad coverage of agriculture and its related fields, this collection provides a comprehensive view of a growing body of knowledge. Researchers will have access to current and authoritative periodical content that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture. With strong emphasis on titles covered in the Agricola database, this collection of more than 600 journal titles is focused on agriculture-related fields. In addition, more than 30 Delmar titles provide in-depth coverage on a variety of agriculture-related topics.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window Search a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to alternative medical practices.

In-Context Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window Opposing Viewpoints In Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites.
Research in Context This link opens in a new window Created specifically for middle-schoolers, Research In Context combines the best of Gale's reference content with age-appropriate videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and much more. Students will find outstanding support to complete assignments in core subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Diversity Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Diversity Studies Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that explore cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. The database is a must-have for social science, history and liberal arts coursework.
Gender Studies Collection This link opens in a new window Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
Pop Culture Collection This link opens in a new window Pop Culture Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window Religion and Philosophy Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines of interest to both researchers and general users. The database offers balanced content that covers topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.
War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window War and Terrorism Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines of interest to analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science. The database offers balanced coverage of both historic and contemporary topics in the fields of war and terrorism.
Communications and Mass Media This link opens in a new window Communications and Mass Media brings together information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Military and Intelligence This link opens in a new window Military and Intelligence contains scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of past and present military affairs. Updated daily, content supports key subject areas, such as governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Publication Databases

InfoTrac Newsstand This link opens in a new window News provides access to major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. News also includes thousands of images, radio, and TV broadcasts, and transcripts.
New York State Newspapers This link opens in a new window Newspaper articles from a variety of New York publications.
Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window Popular Magazines provides access to the most searched magazines across the InfoTrac products. All of the titles are selected based on actual publication searches performed by library patrons and the database includes many titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries".
The New York Times This link opens in a new window Search the full text of The New York Times from 1985 to the present.

Math, Technology, Data & Information Sciences

Computer Science This link opens in a new window
Information Science This link opens in a new window Information Science contains valuable content for library science students, information science students, technology professionals, and others. Information Science is updated daily with articles covering all aspects of managing and maintaining information and technology, including usability, cataloging, circulation, business information, and more.

Economics

Economics and Theory This link opens in a new window Economics and Theory offers a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. This content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more.

Readers' Advisory

Books and Authors This link opens in a new window
Answer the age-old question, 'What do I read next?' Search and match reading interests to books, authors, genres, or topics.

For Teachers

Educator's Reference Complete This link opens in a new window Educator's Reference Complete seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Spanish-Language

Britannica Escolar This link opens in a new window Escolar is the Spanish language version of Britannica
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window Meet the research needs of Spanish-speaking users with a wide range of full-text Spanish and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines both from and about Latin America. Gale OneFile: Informe Académico provides quality reference material on an interface configured for Spanish speakers, allowing researchers to analyze topics and conduct research in Spanish.

History Databases

U.S. History Collection This link opens in a new window U.S. History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.
World History Collection This link opens in a new window World History Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to both novice historians as well as advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Arts

Fine Arts and Music Collection This link opens in a new window Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Encyclopedia Britannica

Britannica School This link opens in a new window

CUNY Primary Source Databases

17th- & 18th-century Burney Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. Newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, but also in Irish and Scottish papers, and the American colonies, Europe and India.
The Economist Historical Archive (1843-2011) This link opens in a new window The Economist Historical Archive ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843 and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-color images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys. Altogether this is an unrivaled multidisciplinary primary source for researching and teaching the 19th and 20th centuries.
Eighteenth Century Collection This link opens in a new window Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window A federated search of all the CUNY Primary Source databases.
Making the Modern World This link opens in a new window The Making of the Modern World provides digital facsimile images of unique primary sources that track the development of the modern, western world through the lens of trade and wealth. Full-text searching across millions of pages of works from the period 1450-1850 (and 1851-1914 in Part II) provides researchers unparalleled access to this vast collection of material for research in the areas of history, political science, social conditions, technology and industry, economics, area studies and more.
Nineteenth Century Collection This link opens in a new window A ground-breaking resource for 19th century studies, NCCO is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focused on primary source collections of the “long” nineteenth century. Collections for this program are sourced through partnerships with major world libraries as well as specialist libraries, and content includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window Tells the story of the enslavement of Africans from the 16th century through 1888 and the abolition of slavery in Brazil; Charts the inception of slavery in Africa & its rise throughout the Atlantic world, with focus on the UK, France, and the United States, including significant coverage of Haiti, Jamaica, Portugal, Senegal, and other regions; Explores the inner workings of slavery from 1492-1888 through legal documents, plantation records, first-person accounts, newspapers, records, and other sources. Includes a range of rare documents related to emancipation in the United States, Latin America, the Caribbean, and other areas from 1789-1896.