Extended Essays in Language and Literature
Categories 1 & 2
***Category 2 essays are the same as category 1, but they analyze works not written in English***
Language and Literature papers in categories 1 and 2 are focused on one or more literary works and can focus on original literary analysis, a particular literary topic, and/or established literary criticism.
| Some topics you could investigate in your literary analysis: | |
|
 |
| The work you investigate must: | |
|
|
| Examples: Category 1 | |
| Too Broad | Focused |
| Marriage in the novels of George Eliot | The portrayal of marriages as imperfect in Middlemarch by George Eliot |
| Comedy in Shakespeare’s plays | The use of comic characters to explore serious issues in Shakespeare’s Measure for Measure and King Lear |
| Autobiographical details in Long Walk to Freedom | The role of autobiographical techniques and their effects on the reader in Long Walk to Freedom by Nelson Mandela |
| Examples: Category 2 | |
| Too Broad | Focused |
| A comparison of the main characters in Huckleberry Finn and Candide | The importance of satire in the travels of the main characters in Huckleberry Finn and Candide |
| A comparison of Shakespeare’s sonnets and Veinte poemas de amor y una canción desesperada by Pablo Neruda | The treatment of the theme of love in a selection of Shakespeare’s sonnets and Veinte poemas de amor y una canción desesperada by Pablo Neruda |
NB: When investigating a film in category 2, the film must be analyzed for its literary value, not filmic. Filmic analysis is allowed in category 3.
Category 3
Category 3 papers also analyze works, however they are not restricted to literary works! Topics in Category 3 emphasize the production and reception of texts in social, historical and/or cultural contexts. Essays that simply offer a general overview of a topic are not appropriate.
| Topics in Category 3 could focus on works that include: | |
|
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Examples: Category 3 | |
| Too Broad | Focused Topics |
| The influence of the media in shaping the view of female beauty | The use of language and image by UK fashion and beauty magazines Cosmopolitan, Glamour and Look to construct a particular body image for women |
| Successful political campaigns | The use of language and other persuasive techniques to confront the ideology of the United States by Malcolm X and other civil rights activists |
| Humor in Measuring the World | The use of humor by Kehlman in Measuring the World to bridge the distance between the present day reader and his historic subject matter |
| Argentine protest marches | The use of different reporting methods by various newspapers to cover Argentine protest marches |
Categories 1 and 2
**Category 2 essays are the same as category 1, but analyze works not written in English**
Primary research in Language and Literature may require close reading of one or more texts. Secondary research may also be necessary for information like historical context, biographical information, and established literary criticism. Students should consider things like the effect of the work, the devices it uses, or the way it is written.
| Philosophical, Political, or Social Issues |
Students can study a philosophical, political or social issue in a work of literature. However, the major focus of their essay should be the literary treatment of the issue. Students should not use the essay solely as a vehicle for their own thoughts on the issue. Students must focus first on their analysis of the presentation of the author’s ideas. Then they can present their personal views on the way the author has treated the subject. |
|
| Use of Literary Criticism |
Students should aim include existing literary criticism and their original ideas. An essay that simply repeats the views of established literary critics will not receive a high mark. |
| Example: Category 1 | Example: Category 2 | ||
| Topic: | The treatment of prejudice in To Kill a Mockingbird and The Kite Runner | Topic: | The portrayal of childhood in novels |
| Research Question: | How far are the approaches to prejudice and discrimination different in To Kill a Mockingbird and The Kite Runner? | Research Question: | In what ways, and to what purposes, do Nabokov’s Speak, Memory and Proust’s Swann’s Way evoke memories of childhood? |
| Approach: | The identification of types of prejudice in the novels and the selection of detailed incidents for close analysis. Some background research into 1950s America and Afghanistan between 1970 and the mid-1990s may be helpful in establishing a context for the argument and a comparative element to the discussion. | Approach: | A close analysis of both works, with reference to existing literary criticism of both works, and others, as appropriate, some secondary sources for historical context, and some comparative element to the discussion |
Category 3
Students should give a focused analysis of the texts being considered. The approach should be balanced, coherently argued, use relevant examples to illustrated the point.
| The analysis should: |  |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Essays that attempt to interpret a text without considering the original audience and context are unlikely to be successful. | |
Examples of language in a cultural context
| Topic: | Gender |
| Research Question: | How has the portrayal of men in male grooming products changed from the 1980s to date? |
| Approach: | A careful analysis of the contexts and the devices employed in at least two specific advertising campaigns in the target language culture, with some comparative element to the discussion. |
Examples of language and mass communication
| Topic: | The use of persuasive language in motivational speeches |
| Research Question: | By what means do Steve Jobs and Martin Luther King seek to inspire their particular audiences? |
| Approach: | A careful analysis of the contexts and the rhetorical devices employed in Steve Jobs’ Stanford University commencement speech (2005) and Martin Luther King’s “I Have a Dream” speech (1963), with some comparative element to the discussion. |
Language and Literature Sources
Even students doing primary research will still need to reference secondary sources. These may include established literary interpretations or criticisms, biographical and/or historical information.
|
In Context Databases Gale In-Context databases offer topic pages and the Topic Finder search feature. This video will show you how to use topic pages. |
|
Browse Topics in: |
||
|
|
Browse Issues in: |
|||
|
Gale OneFile Databases Gale OneFile databases have two features to help you find search words as well as topics and sub-topics. Use the "subject guide search" feature in Gale OneFile databases to help you find good search terms.(tutorial video). Use the "topic finder" to help you find good topics and sub-topics (tutorial video)
|
|
|
||
|
Encyclopedia Britannica has lots of information, like any encyclopedia, but it also has a lot of information about sports and recreation, specifically. |
Browse articles on: |
Biographical Information Britannica also offers an extensive database of biographical information that is searchable based on era, nationality, field of work, and gender. |
||
| Literary Reference and Criticism | ||||
|
(vol. 311, 2012) |
Provides biographical details on thousands of modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Includes current writers as well as the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century and authors from around the world. Information is provided by the authors themselves or drawn from published interviews, feature stories, book reviews and other materials provided by the authors/publishers. |
Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series (vol. 221, 2012) |
A biographical and bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields including poetry, fiction and nonfiction, journalism, drama, television and movies. Includes the most recent data on the world's most-popular authors. Profile sketches are entirely revised and completely replace the original Contemporary Authors entries. Each volume contains approximately 250 writers. | |
|
(multiple volumes) |
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context. |
(multiple volumes) |
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance. | |
|
(multiple Volumes) |
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance. |
(vol. 92, 2021) |
Provides biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, theater, and others. | |
Language and Literature
Essay Types
An extended essay in language and literature gives students an opportunity to do independent research into a topic of special interest to them within the subject. It is intended to promote advanced research and writing skills, intellectual discovery and creativity.
The essay is open to students who are writing in a language that they would be capable of offering as a language A
Studies in language and literature EEs are divided into three categories:
|
Categories 1 & 2 Studies of one or more literary works
Category 2 papers are the same as Category 1, but use literary works written in a language other than English. |
|
Category 3 Studies in language based on one or more texts. Texts can be compared with a translated text originally written in another language. Texts do NOT have to be literary works.
|
