Extended Essays in Language Acquisition
| Choosing a Topic |
|
|
Students can pursue their interest in the language through research based on texts (spoken or written records of the language) or specific cultural artefacts, a requirement for the category 2(b) essay. The essay should consist of the study of an issue in one of the three categories: language, culture and society or literature, or a combination of these. |
Examples
| Too Broad | Focused |
|---|---|
| A history of Swahili | An analysis of the way in which Swahili is adapting to accommodate the language of technology |
| Rap music in Germany | What does rap music tell us about contemporary German culture? An analysis of the rap lyrics of Bushido and Sookee (alias Nora Hantzsch) |
| An evaluation of Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt’s novella Oscar et la Dame Rose | How do we deal with death? An evaluation of the treatment of the theme of death in Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt’s novella Oscar et la Dame Rose |
The essay should be a specific analysis of the language (its use, structure and so on), normally related to its cultural context or a specific text.
| Language | French |
|---|---|
| Topic | Idiomatic expressions: geographic influence on the French language |
| Research question | To what extent does geography influence the use of French idiomatic expressions? |
| Approach | An investigation into the use of idiomatic expressions in Francophone countries that reflect the local geography. |
| Language | Mandarin |
|---|---|
| Topic | The influence of information technology on Mandarin vocabulary |
| Research question | How has the common terminology of information technology been incorporated into everyday Mandarin? |
| Approach | A study of the use of foreign terms compared to native terms in information technology and how those terms have become accepted in standard Mandarin. |
| Language | Spanish |
|---|---|
| Topic | Social differences: the use of the diminutive (–ito) form in Quito |
| Research question | To what extent is the extensive use of the diminutive –ito in Quito, Ecuador, a reflection of class and/or ethnic differences? |
| Approach | An investigation into the use of the diminutive form in daily conversations among local inhabitants of Quito, Ecuador. |
The essay should consist of a cultural analysis of the impact of a particular issue on the form or use of the language.
| Language | Arabic |
|---|---|
| Topic | The effects of globalization on language and social media in the Middle East |
| Research question | How has the globalization of social media like Twitter affected the increased usage of political language among students in two international schools in the Middle East? |
| Approach | An examination of the use of political concepts and terminology by international students in the Middle East through engagement in social media like Twitter. |
| Language | Japanese |
|---|---|
| Topic | The relationship between language and changes in society: the case of the Japanese family |
| Research question | Does Japanese need new words to describe non-traditional family relationships as society changes? |
| Approach | A commentary on how the use of the words “ shujin” and “ kanai” have changed, together with an examination of the social factors that may require new linguistic terms for family relationships to be created. |
| Language | Dutch |
|---|---|
| Topic | The language of discrimination in Dutch popular media |
| Research question | How do the various terms used to refer to foreigners and immigrants in popular media reflect various shades of discrimination in Dutch society? |
| Approach | A socio-linguistic investigation into the connotation of the various terms for immigrants and other non-Dutch people used widely within Dutch society that reflect shades of discrimination towards particular racial or ethnic groups. |
The essay should be an analysis of a more general cultural nature but be specific to a country or community where the language is spoken. Topics that are too broad and could apply to many cultures (such as globalization, the death penalty or eating disorders) are inappropriate.
Essays of a general cultural nature must be based on specific cultural artefacts.
| Language | Portuguese |
|---|---|
| Topic | Social tension in Brazil in the 1960s as depicted in the lyrics of selected popular protest songs performed by Zelia Barbosa |
| Research question | To what extent did songs of protest reflect the growing social tensions in Brazil under the military dictatorship in the 60s? |
| Approach | An investigation into the thematic content of Brazilian protest songs. |
| Language | Japanese |
|---|---|
| Topic | Women’s traditional roles in Japan and the role the media plays in perpetuating them |
| Research question | To what extent are Japanese advertisers perpetuating traditional views of women’s roles in Japanese society? |
| Approach | An analysis of the role of women in television adverts shown at peak family viewing times. |
| Language | English |
|---|---|
| Topic | Racial profiling and the perpetuation of stereotypes: a case study of the Arizona Senate Bill 1070 |
| Research question | To what extent does Arizona Senate Bill 1070 and other similar legislation in Arizona reflect the state’s targeting of specific minorities for “profiling”, thus perpetuating common stereotypes? |
| Approach | An analysis of Arizona Senate Bill 1070 as a catalyst for racial profiling of Mexicans in Arizona. |
The essay should be an analysis of a literary type, based on a specific work or works of literature exclusively from the target language. In the case of a comparison of texts, all texts must originally have been written in the target language.
| Language | French |
|---|---|
| Topic | North African symbolism in L’Etranger by Albert Camus |
| Research question | How does Camus use sensory imagery in his novel L’Etranger? |
| Approach | An analysis of the images of the setting and physical elements that reveal the emotional distance of Meursault. |
| Language | Japanese |
|---|---|
| Topic | Mystery and suspense: an examination of Akagawa’s novel 三毛猫ホームズ (Mikeneko Holmes) |
| Research question | How does Jiro Akagawa create suspense in the detective novel三毛猫ホームズ ( Mikeneko Holmes). |
| Approach | A commentary on the techniques used by the author to create suspense and thereby intensify the element of mystery in三毛猫ホームズ (Mikeneko Holmes). |
| Language | Spanish |
|---|---|
| Topic | The use of narrative voice in Mexican novels |
| Research question | How does Juan Rulfo effectively use both first and third person in his novel Pedro Páramo to merge the worlds of the living and the dead? |
| Approach | A textual analysis to reveal the narrative techniques used by the author to create the “magical” atmosphere of the novel. |
Language Acquisition Sources
Even students doing primary research will still need to reference secondary sources. These may include established literary interpretations or criticisms, biographical and/or historical information.
|
In Context Databases Gale In-Context databases offer topic pages and the Topic Finder search feature. This video will show you how to use topic pages. |
|
Browse Topics in: |
||
|
|
Browse Issues in: |
|||
|
Gale OneFile Databases Gale OneFile databases have two features to help you find search words as well as topics and sub-topics. Use the "subject guide search" feature in Gale OneFile databases to help you find good search terms.(tutorial video). Use the "topic finder" to help you find good topics and sub-topics (tutorial video)
|
|
|
||
|
Encyclopedia Britannica has lots of information, like any encyclopedia, but it also has a lot of information about sports and recreation, specifically. |
Browse articles on: |
Biographical Information Britannica also offers an extensive database of biographical information that is searchable based on era, nationality, field of work, and gender. |
||
| Literary Reference and Criticism | ||||
|
(vol. 311, 2012) |
Provides biographical details on thousands of modern novelists, poets, playwrights, nonfiction writers, journalists and scriptwriters. Includes current writers as well as the most-studied literary figures of the early 20th century and authors from around the world. Information is provided by the authors themselves or drawn from published interviews, feature stories, book reviews and other materials provided by the authors/publishers. |
Contemporary Authors, New Revision Series (vol. 221, 2012) |
A biographical and bibliographical guide to current writers in all fields including poetry, fiction and nonfiction, journalism, drama, television and movies. Includes the most recent data on the world's most-popular authors. Profile sketches are entirely revised and completely replace the original Contemporary Authors entries. Each volume contains approximately 250 writers. | |
|
(multiple volumes) |
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context. |
(multiple volumes) |
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance. | |
|
(multiple Volumes) |
Provides critical overviews of short stories from all cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the story's cultural and historical significance. |
(vol. 92, 2021) |
Provides biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of African American and/or black heritage. Covers persons of various nationalities in a wide variety of fields, including architecture, art, business, dance, education, fashion, film, industry, journalism, law, literature, medicine, music, politics and government, publishing, religion, science and technology, social issues, sports, television, theater, and others. | |
Language Acquisition Essay Types
An extended essay (EE) in language acquisition gives students an opportunity to:
The essay requires students to carry out research based on:
The essay is intended for students who are studying a second modern language. It must be written in the language for which it is registered (the target language) and focus on matters related to the target culture.
Students may not write a language acquisition EE in a language that they are studying for their Diploma Programme as language A literature, or language A studies in language and literature.
Students are assessed on the basis of their skills in research and analysis, not their language proficiency.
Language acquisition EEs are divided into three categories:
|
Category 1 A specific analysis of the language (its use and structure), normally related to its cultural context or a specific text. |
|
Category 2 An analysis of: (a) the impact of a particular socio-cultural issue on the form or use of the language, based on an examination of language use or (b) a socio-cultural issue, as illustrated through specific cultural artefact(s) from a country/community where the language is spoken. |
|
Category 3 An analysis of a literary type, based on a specific work or works of literature exclusively from the target language. |
A Note on Cultural Artefacts
For 2(b), “cultural artefacts” include anything concrete or tangible that helps to give insight into the target culture and language, such as:
The following do not qualify as cultural artefacts: political events (elections, referendums), historical events, social movements (eg riots), social issues (unemployment, immigration, racism, school violence, the role of women in country X, etc), towns or regions (“travel guide” essays), (minority) ethnic groups, media trends, styles of music, sports, traditions, institutions (school systems, political parties, etc).
