Extended Essays in Theatre
| Choosing a Topic |  |
|
Theatre is composite in nature. Students may therefore take an interdisciplinary approach in their research, so long as their topic is firmly rooted in the subject of theatre. The essay topic may relate to an area of the Diploma Programme theatre course, but students can also choose to explore other areas of the subject. Crucially, the topic must reflect their particular interest and enthusiasm within theatre. Students can opt to compare two or more theatrical practices, but students should be careful to ensure that their comparisons are valid and the product of sensitive and objective analysis. |
Once they have chosen their topic, students must frame a focused research question.
It is the task of the supervisor to ensure that the question:
The question’s scope should not be too broad as such essays are rarely successful. The best research questions encourage analysis in depth rather than breadth.
Approaches to Research
Students are encouraged to use both primary and secondary sources.
Primary sources of information can include:
Audio and video recordings or hyperlinks to videos online cannot be submitted as part of the EE. If students include visual material within the EE, it should further or illustrate their argument rather than be merely decorative.
A good essay will always include a bibliography of high-quality research sources. These give students scope for the in-depth analysis that characterizes the best pieces of work.
Their reading will enable them to:
Secondary sources of information can include:
Students should not rely exclusively on textbooks and websites for their secondary sources—they must read more widely.
Students can choose to undertake practical, applied research, but it is not a requirement.
Students can choose to base their EE exclusively on their reading and explore a topic at a purely theoretical level. However, their EE must connect the theory with theatrical practice. The research outcome should always include a practical dimension.
Students should avoid taking a narrow literary approach. For example, an essay exploring the use of fans in Restoration comedy must include a discussion of how a particular production interpreted the convention.
The title of the essay should clearly indicate its main aims and objectives.
Once students have identified their topic and written their research question, they can decide how to research their answer. They may find it helpful to write a statement outlining their broad approach. These examples are for guidance only.
| Topic | Costume design |
|---|---|
| Research question | To what extent do Sara Schwartz’s costume designs carry the themes explored in the production of Leonce and Lena at the Volkstheater? |
| Approach | A performance analysis of Leonce and Lena produced at the Volkstheater in 2010 and the themes explored in it, as declared by the director, such as loss of power, beauty, existentialism and self-sacrifice, through the lens of costume design. Close links are drawn to the text by Büchner and Schwartz’s designs, supported by personal interviews. The essay required extensive and repeated visits to the theatre. |
| Topic | Traditional Japanese theatre: Noh and Kabuki |
|---|---|
| Research question | What part is played by violence in Noh and Kabuki theatre? |
| Approach | Contextual and socio-historical research of the two forms underpinned a close performance analysis of chosen plays from each form to examine the theatrical techniques used to portray violence on stage. A comparison between the techniques of each form was made to show how the different forms place different significance on the portrayal of violence in telling the theatrical story. |
| Topic | Physical theatre |
|---|---|
| Research question | To what extent can social discrimination be discussed through the body in physical theatre? An analysis of DV8’s The Cost of Living. |
| Approach | Performance analysis of The Cost of Living, first identifying the physical metaphors of broken body and whole body, and linking this to physical characterization techniques. A comparison is made between spoken and physical language as well as their interplay in this production to convey the intended message about physical disability. Secondary research sources range from the general on physical theatre, the moving body etc to the specific: Lloyd Newson and DV8’s own writings. |
| Topic | Circus and theatre |
|---|---|
| Research question | To what extent can theatrical elements transform circus into a piece of theatre? An analysis of Cirque du Soleil’s production Ka. |
| Approach | The essay investigates and compares essential elements of theatre and circus and their possible interferences. Elements of theatre such as design, story and characterization in a specific performance were analysed in this production by Cirque du Soleil. Generic elements of circus were also identified in the same performance and a conclusion was drawn as to what extent this performance could be termed “theatre” or to what extent it was “circus”. The analysis was dependent on watching a live performance as well as the DVD; extensive secondary sources on theatre and circus as well as reviews, critiques and performance programme notes. |
Theatre Sources
Even students doing primary research will still need to reference secondary sources. These may include established artistic interpretations or criticisms, biographical and/or historical information.
|
In Context Databases Gale In-Context databases offer topic pages and the Topic Finder search feature. This video will show you how to use topic pages.
|
|
Browse Topics in:
|
||
|
|
Browse Issues in: |
|
||
|
Gale OneFile Databases Gale OneFile databases have two features to help you find search words as well as topics and sub-topics. Use the "subject guide search" feature in Gale OneFile databases to help you find good search terms.(tutorial video). Use the "topic finder" to help you find good topics and sub-topics (tutorial video)
|
|
|
||
|
Encyclopedia Britannica has lots of information, like any encyclopedia, but it also has a lot of information about sports and recreation, specifically. |
Browse articles on: |
Biographical Information Britannica also offers an extensive database of biographical information that is searchable based on era, nationality, field of work, and gender. |
||
Writing the Essay
An extended essay (EE) in theatre gives students an opportunity to:
undertake independent research into a topic in theatre of their choice
apply a range of skills to develop and explore in an imaginative and critical way a focused research question appropriate to theatre
test and validate their research by considering its effect on the practice of the area of theatre they have investigated.
When they have established their topic and research question, students should then make a research plan. The plan should be flexible enough to allow them to explore their topic in a creative manner. Students should not be afraid to take risks during the research process: originality is encouraged, as is using a variety of research models.
It is vital that students’ methodology:
Their personal involvement in the EE is also crucial.
